The start of a new love affair

OK, so I spent months reading up on yarn dying, ruined kitchen implements and clothes with food-colours and cut up countless unloved yarn left overs, but last Friday it was finally time to experiment for real. My stash of un-dyed yarn is not massive, but it was sufficient to get started (8 skeins of un-dyed merino 4-ply and 5 skeins of Aran weight merino).
The most time was actually spent setting up my work area and then contemplating which colours to dye my yarn in. After all that time planning, I hadn’t even considered that!
Even though it took quite some time to get started and clean up the mess, I have to confess that I’m well and truly hooked on this new love of mine and can’t wait to carry on dyeing yarn. The results might not be to the taste of anybody else but me, but that doesn’t matter. These cute little skeins are my babies and I love them!!!

I took  few pictures to document the process….
  
  
  
 

About Yarn Pony

I like yarn. A lot. And puppies. I also dye yarn to feed my knitting obession. Together with Jo (http://www.wordpress.bluebluegrey.com) I organise the Edinburgh Yarn Festival (http://www.edinyarnfest.com) Twitter: @yarnpony facebook: YarnPony http://www.yarnpony.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Yarn Dyeing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

