Creating Colour

On of the difficult aspects of dyeing any sort of fibre or textile is the ability to create and reproduce colours. The process itself is easy. Hot water, fixing agent, pour in the dye and add your fibre. Granted, results depend on the temperature and ratio of water to fibre, but over all it’s possible to create good results with some practice. The big challenge however is to reproduce colours. In the past I would mix colours on the go, more or less over the dye pot. This is a very exciting process and often the most unexpected things happen, but here’s the dilemma: how to reproduce that gorgeous colour after the event? Need one skein more? A friend asking you to dye something in that lovely purple again?
In the hope that I can avoid these problems going forward, I decided to create my own little colour recipe book.
I spent a couple weeks experimenting with different colour mixtures, recorded the results, and hey presto, ready is my little colour database.
Now let’s hope that I can replicate the hues!

20120821-101828.jpg

20120821-101837.jpg

20120821-101851.jpg

20120821-101859.jpg

About Yarn Pony

I like yarn. A lot. And puppies. I also dye yarn to feed my knitting obession. Together with Jo (http://www.wordpress.bluebluegrey.com) I organise the Edinburgh Yarn Festival (http://www.edinyarnfest.com) Twitter: @yarnpony facebook: YarnPony http://www.yarnpony.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dyeing Process, Yarn Dyeing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

