Replicating Colour

On Sunday my friend Jane picked a colour from the 50+ ones I created over the past couple weeks. This is very exciting for me as I now get the chance to replicate the chosen colour and see if the recipient is satisfied with the outcome. Jane wants 4 skeins of merino sock-yarn in the same colour for one project (a cardigan). My dye pots have an 8 litre capacity and take 2 skeins (3 at a push), so to dye 4 skeins I really need to prepare two dye baths and be super-acurate with my measurements.This means amount of dye stock and water, fixing agent and temperature should be consistent. I’ve done a trial last night with two skeins in two separate pots and it’s looking good so far, but I’ll only have time and day-light this afternoon to see if this was a success. Pictures to follow…

About Yarn Pony

I like yarn. A lot. And puppies. I also dye yarn to feed my knitting obession. Together with Jo (http://www.wordpress.bluebluegrey.com) I organise the Edinburgh Yarn Festival (http://www.edinyarnfest.com) Twitter: @yarnpony facebook: YarnPony http://www.yarnpony.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Yarn Dyeing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

