Lucky Edinburgh Knitters: 2 new LYS in one week

This week two new yarn stores opened in Edinburgh – can you believe it? Well, this might not make the headlines on the BBC website, but for us local knitters its certainly BIG NEWS.
Watch out for a little series of blog posts on the EYF site about yarny news from Scotland in the aftermath of the yarn festival. Kind of a “What xxxxx did next” sort of theme.

For now, just a few impressions of the two shops. Let me start by saying that both shops have a lot going for them and it’s great that they don’t follow the concepts of existing yarn stores. Both have a unique angle on the market and compliment beautifully what’s on offer in the city already.

Ginger Twist Studio opened on Thursday in the East-End of the City (11, London Road). Jessica, who runs the shop loves all things vintage, so it’s a really cute and quirky place. Full of enthusiasm, she’s guaranteed to get you knitting. Jessica stocks (amongst other things) New Lanark, Cascade, King Cole and some hand-dyed, hand-spun yarns. There’s also a programme with classes available, so be sure to swing by! Jessica is on twitter as @gingertwistEDI

20130622-153011.jpg

20130622-152956.jpgJessica – full of enthusiasm ๐Ÿ™‚

20130622-153055.jpg

Be Inspired Fibresย  opened it’s doors today and is located right around the corner from my home (30, Marchmont Road) and I’m very excited about Mei’s selection of yarns. Lotus Yarns, Cascade, ITU from Japan, Malabrigo, Fyberspates and Habu are just a few and there are plans to widen the range with some otherย exciting lines. Mei also stocks ChiaoGoo needles, of which I’m a huge fan. Be Inspired Fibres definitely falls into the “Boutique LYS” category, just what Edinburgh was lacking. You can follow her on twitter @inspiremei

20130622-152937.jpg

Mei – owner of Be Inspired Fibres

20130622-153029.jpg

My haul: some ITU Tetsu (sil&steel), Lotus Linen and stitchmarkers

20130622-153437.jpg

Some Lotus “Mimi” I treated myself to earlier in the year

20130622-152925.jpg

About Yarn Pony

I like yarn. A lot. And puppies. I also dye yarn to feed my knitting obession. Together with Jo (http://www.wordpress.bluebluegrey.com) I organise the Edinburgh Yarn Festival (http://www.edinyarnfest.com) Twitter: @yarnpony facebook: YarnPony http://www.yarnpony.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lucky Edinburgh Knitters: 2 new LYS in one week

  1. Nana GoGo says:

    Hopefully, not just ‘lucky Edinburgh knitters'(and crocheters?) but those of us living further afield who may want to venture into the Big City to blow away the cobwebs! Good Luck to both ladies in their new ventures.

  2. Fantastic! Good to know for my next visit to Edinburgh. Yarn crawls are always on my list ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Narky says:

    Ooh, I’m up in Edinburgh for a wedding in August… maybe I could squeeze in a wee bit of yarn shopping…

  4. Lorraine says:

    I visited Be Inspired Fibres this morning and it is a lovely shop. Couldn’t resist buying some cobweb yarn to make Shetland lace scarves. I look forward to also being able to buy Yarn Pony there too ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Maebhe says:

    Im so excited to have found u & ur blog. I only just moved to Edinburgh & was searching online for places to buy more wool & while I am still quite basic in regards to my crochet, It’s lovely to know that there is a community here. Thank you.

  6. Yarn Pony says:

    12th October 2013, 11-6pm at my studio in St.Margaret’s House (artscomplex). There will be a post on this blog shortly! I also have a group on Ravelry ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

